Winners of the final round of the 2020 Spirited Awards®

The Tales of the Cocktail Foundation announced yesterday the final round of winners for the 14th edition of the Spirited Awards®.

As we know, this is the first time in the Foundation’s history that the awards are being held virtually. The winners of the first round were announced on September 21st.

It should be noted that this year certain categories were modified and even suppressed. For example, no bar was awarded this year for the Spirited Awards World’s Best Bar category. Travel restrictions and confinement during the pandemic were reasons that challenged the judges to visiting the nominees for this award.

In addition, the Foundation decided to update the eligibility rules to avoid repeating winners. That is, if an individual has won an award in the past, he or she cannot be selected as a winner for the same award in the future. A way to provide more opportunities for more participants for their work.

Finally, for the first time in the awards, the Pioneer Award Winner and Dame Hall of Fame American and International Inductees were announced during the Spirited Awards. Dame Hall of Fame celebrates leaders who have made unique and longstanding contributions to the global hospitality industry community. This year the foundation through the Dame Hall of Fame reinforced its sense of inclusion for the LGBTQIA+ community by using the word “individual” as opposed to woman.


Philanthropy Recognitions presented by Santa Teresa 1796 Rum

Hope & Sesame — Guangzhou, China

Restaurant Workers’ Community Foundation — New York, NY

COVID19 Employee Assistance Directive — Melbourne, Australia

Best American Bar Mentor presented by BarSmarts

Don Lee 

American Bartender of the Year presented by Pernod Ricard

Kevin Diedrich — Pacific Cocktail Haven, San Francisco, CA

Best International Bar Mentor presented by Tales of the Cocktail Foundation

Alex Kratena 

International Bartender of the Year presented by Martini & Rossi

Kelsey Ramage —  Supernova Ballroom, Toronto, Canada

Pioneer Award presented by Diageo Bar Academy

Shannon Mustipher

Timeless American presented by Q Mixers

Angel’s Share — New York, NY

Timeless International presented by Tales of the Cocktail Foundation

Boadas Cocktails — Barcelona, Spain

Helen David Lifetime Achievement presented by William Grant & Sons

Audrey Saunders

The Dame Hall of Fame ceremony, in partnership with Spirit Forward by Bacardi Womxn in Leadership, was hosted at 12PM CT today and those recognitions and winners are featured in full below.

Dame Hall of Fame 2020 Inductees American Inductee

Tiffanie Barriere

International Inductee

Tess Posthumus


Chairs of Spirited Awards

Below is a list of the Spirited Awards chairs responsible for overseeing this year’s selection process:

Overall Chair — Charlotte Voisey

International Chair — Jacob Briars

Central U.S. Co-Chairs —  Bridget Albert, Shaun Traxler

West U.S. Co-Chairs — Kiowa Bryan, Mary Palac

East U.S. Co-Chairs — Laura Cullen, Andy Seymour

Europe Co-Chairs — Guiseppe Gallo, Claire Warner

Canada Co-Chairs — Evelyn Chick, Lauren Mote

Middle East & Africa Co-Chairs — Richard Irwin, Stephanie Simbo

Latin America & Caribbean Co-Chairs — Camille Austin, Tato Giovannini

Asia Pacific Co-Chair — Hayley Morison

Writing & Media Co-Chairs — Paul Clarke, Sandrea Lawrence, Francois Monti, Matthew Rowley


Don’t drink and drive. Enjoy responsibly.


Join the community on Reddit

Spirits Hunters is a community dedicated to spirits and the world of mixology. Feel free to talk about the world of mixology and bartending here!